• Transform magazine
  • August 18, 2022


Transform Awards ANZ 2022 open for entries

ANZ Open For Entries News Story

The Transform Awards ANZ has officially opened for 2022 entries, celebrating its third year anniversary. The awards programme celebrates and recognises the transformative power of brand strategy, creativity and design throughout Australia and New Zealand.

The Transform Awards ANZ recognises best practice in corporate, product and global brand development work, with categories that focus on strategy, execution, content and evaluation. 

The judges, formed by a panel of experts in the branding, marketing and corporate communications field, will create a shortlist recognising those agencies and businesses that excel for their creative or strategic approach to their branding work.

Previous winners include Derwent Valley Council and For The People, which took home the Grand Prix award, and Story Espresso and For The People, which won the Best overall visual identity award.

The entry deadline for this year’s awards is 12 August 2022. However, companies that submit three entries before 26 March 2022 will receive a thought leadership piece to run online on Transform magazine. Companies that enter by 24 June 2022 will receive $150 AUD off the total entry cost and their fifth free entry.

2022 sees the addition of different subcategories within 'Best brand evolution,' including business, consumer and corporate. 

To help craft your winning submissions, download the entry and information guide or contact Janiel Cunanan for guidance.

The full list of categories are as follows, and their definitions can be found on the dedicated categories page:


Best use of visual property
This award is for the best use of imagery: graphic, still, video or digital, during a rebrand or brand development project.

Best brand architecture solution
This category rewards the most efficient corporate organisational strategies developed for a brand.

Best use of copy style or tone of voice
This award is for the brand that best uses a verbal style to reflect its overall identity and to differentiate the brand from its competitors.

Best brand experience
This award recognises excellence in the experiential aspects of a brand or rebrand. Developments to a physical space, online portal or other location that enhance the user’s experience of a brand will be accepted.

Best use of packaging
This award recognises the company that most effectively communicates a brand’s positioning, values and visual identity via product packaging.

Best wayfinding or signage
This award honours branded signage and wayfinding systems that have been strategically developed to be effective and reflective of the brand’s values and overall visual identity.

Best use of audio branding
This award recognises companies that have employed an innovative use of sound in the development of their brand.

Best use of typography
This award reflects the role that typography has played in a brand's journey. This could be where the typography is an actual component of a wordmark or where typography is used within the visual identity. Alternatively, this award could be given when visual identity and typography have been strategically aligned through an organisation’s brand guidelines.

Best place or nation brand
This award recognises the brand journey made by a nation or a place. Entries could be from national, regional, city or district level.


Best external stakeholder relations during a brand development project
This award is for the best communication with external stakeholders throughout the process of a rebrand or during a brand development project. Companies should recognise that progress requires measured communication with all external stakeholders.

Best internal communications during a brand development project
This award recognises the importance of effective communication with the internal audience during a brand transformation. Employees should be engaged and informed about change in a company’s positioning or brand strategy, ensuring the changes takes place evenly throughout the organisation.

Best implementation of a brand development project
This award is for the best execution of developments to or rebrand of an organisation. The coordinated rollout of a change helps to ensure a new identity has maximum impact on audiences.

Best localisation of an international brand
This award benchmarks the effort of an organisation at bringing a global brand to the ANZ region, making it relevant to the local markets.


Best creative strategy
This award is for the best creative, thought-out, aligned strategy behind the repositioning of a brand.

Best brand evolution
This award is for the brand that best moves its identity into the future while maintaining links with the past and evolving in a clear and creative way. The best brand evolution categories are as follows:

  • Best brand evolution (business)
  • Best brand evolution (consumer)
  • Best brand evolution (corporate)

Best strategic or creative development of a new brand
This award is for the company that has adopted a strategic or creative approach when developing its new brand in order to differentiate the company, reposition the business or otherwise change perception of the brand.

Best development of a new brand within an existing brand portfolio
This category rewards companies that develop a new brand within their portfolio of brands. As well as acknowledging the strategy and development of the new brand the judges will also look to see what the development adds to the existing corporate or master brand.

Best naming strategy
This award honours innovation in naming. It is for the most appropriate new name for a new brand, rebrand or brand extension or where an organisation can demonstrate a clear and well thought through naming strategy.


Best corporate rebrand following a merger or acquisition
This award is for the best rebrand of an organisation following a merger with another company or the incorporation of another company into the original brand.

Best brand development project to reflect change of mission, values or positioning
This award is for the best repositioning of an organisation to reflect a new approach to its business.

Best brand consolidation
This award is for the most effective alignment of individually branded elements and sub-brands of an organisation.

Best rebrand of a digital property
This award is for the best rebrand across the digital and online assets of an organisation, including its websites and apps.


Best visual identity by sector

This award is for the best identity developed and used by a brand, including all visual aspects of a rebrand from logo to typeface in the brand’s sector.

  • A charity, NGO or NFP
    • Education
    • Energy and utilities
    • Engineering and manufacturing
    • Farming and agriculture
    • Financial services
    • FMCG (fast moving consumer goods)
    • Food and beverage
    • Healthcare and pharmaceuticals
    • Industrial and basic materials
    • Lifestyle and wellness
    • Mining and extractives
    • Professional services
    • Property, construction and facilities management
    • Public sector
    • Retail
    • Sports and leisure
    • Technology, media and telecommunications
    • Transport and logistics
    • Travel and tourism

Best overall visual identity
This award is for the best overall identity developed and used by a brand, including all visual aspects of a rebrand from logo to typeface. You cannot enter this directly, all visual identity entries across different sectors will be automatically put forward for this award.

Grand Prix
This award is for overall excellence in rebranding. You cannot enter this directly, all entries will be automatically put forward for this award.